Radio & Television

Writers Guild screenwriting awards presented in virtual ceremony

TORONTO — With the 2020 Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) Screenwriting Awards cancelled due to Covid-19, this year’s award winners were announced Monday night in a virtual presentation on the Guild’s YouTube channel, hosted by Canadian comedian and actor Gavin Crawford (pictured). Winners of 2020’s top screenwriting prizes include Jann Arden and Jennica Harper in the comedy series category (Jann, “The Big House”), Noelle Carbone for best drama series writing (Coroner, “All’s Well”), Laura Phillips for best feature film screenplay (Sweetness in the Belly), and Nance Ackerman, Ariella Pahlke and Teresa MacInnes for their documentary screenwriting work (Conviction). WGC special...

Our industry and COVID-19

We've gathered a number of links where Canadian cable, radio, television, telecom and wireless companies have posted their responses to the Covid-19 pandemic.