Cable / Telecom News

Nine Quebec exchanges deregulated

OTTAWA-GATINEAU – The CRTC today granted a Telus request to deregulate local phone service in several Quebec regions. Adding to the larger centres across Canada which have already been deregulated, as we've reported, Baie-Comeau (Marquette sector), Baie-Comeau (Hauterive sector), Matane, Mont-Joli, Montmagny, Port Cartier, Sept-Îles, Saint-Georges-de-Beauce, and Saint-Lambert are now deregulated exchanges.It was a quick turnaround as well, as Telus only filed its request in July, said the Commission.