Cable / Telecom

CRTC approves some, not all, of Bell’s deferral account funds

OTTAWA – The CRTC has approved the use of deferral account funds by Bell Aliant and Bell Canada to expand broadband services to 38 distribution serving areas in 10 Ontario and Quebec communities.Harriston, Hastings, Hepworth, Lanark, Michigan, Tweed, and Wingham, Ontario were approved, as were La Patrie, Napierville, and Yamaska in Quebec.The Commission denied the Bell companies' request to use deferral account funds in 29 other distribution serving areas in eight additional Ontario and Quebec communities.Click here to read the full decision.